Course Calendar

  1. Tech Setup; Git and Web Standards Refreshers Week One

    1. Monday, August 21

      1. Welcome & introductions
      2. Course policies & calendar
      3. Course technologies
    2. Wednesday, August 23

      1. Review of Git
      2. Review of web standards and unobtrusive JavaScript

    Assigned Work

    • To Read

      1. Haverbeke, Eloquent Javascript, 2nd ed., Introduction; Chapters 1 & 2
      2. MDN, Introduction to web APIs
      3. Review the contents and organization of other materials on Mozilla Developer Network’s (MDN), especially Web technology for developers
    • To Do

      1. As soon as possible: Submit COM 333/533 Contract and Survey (link in your @hawk.iit.edu inbox; email instructor at karl.stolley@gmail.com if you did not receive it)
      2. As soon as possible: Create Basecamp account (invite will arrive after you submit the Contract and Survey)
      3. Computer setup (Firefox Developer Edition, Atom.io, Node.js, Git); follow these instructions
  2. JavaScript I Week Two

    1. Monday, August 28

      1. Introduce first project
      2. Remaining web standards review: CSS, Unobtrusive JavaScript
      3. JavaScript syntax and fundamentals
      4. JavaScript collections (arrays and objects)
    2. Wednesday, August 30

      1. Functional and object-oriented programming styles
      2. Understanding the JavaScript event loop

    Assigned Work

    • To Read

      1. Haverbeke, Chapters 3–6
      2. CodeNewbie, An Intro to APIs
      3. Zapier, An Introduction to Apis, Chapter 1
    • To Do

      1. Set up local Git and remote GitHub repository for working along with Haverbeke, Chapter 7 (and other smaller snippits of code examples throughout the book); post URL to Basecamp thread
      2. Begin work on Project One
  3. JavaScript II Week Three

    1. Monday, September 4: Labor Day, NO CLASS

    2. Wednesday, September 6

      1. JavaScript and the Document Object Model
      2. Asyncrhonous requests (AJAX)

    Assigned Work

    • To Read

      1. Haverbeke, Chapters 8–10, 12–14
    • To Do

      1. Work through Haverbeke, Chapter 11 in your Git repository
      2. Contine work on Project One
  4. API Structure and Endpoints, Documentation; Request/Response Architecture Week Four

    1. Monday, September 11

      1. API structures and URL design
      2. Brief JSON overview (more in Week 5)
      3. Finding and reading documentation
      4. REST/Request-response architecture (HTTP)
      5. Alternatives: SOAP
    2. Wednesday, September 13

      1. Work day; no class. Finish draft of Project One
      2. Stolley available in our chatroom

    Assigned Work

    • To Read

      1. Haverbeke, Chapters 16; 17–18
    • To Do

      1. Post on Basecamp the GitHub URL to Project One draft (by Thursday, September 14)
      2. Respond to all other draft student projects
  5. Catch-up and Work Week Week Seven

    1. Monday, October 2

      1. Open-ended Q&A
      2. Lab time
    2. Wednesday, October 4

      1. Lab time

    Assigned Work

    • To Do

      1. Continue work on Project Two
  6. Project Presentations; Transition Week Week Eight

    1. Monday, October 9: Fall Break, NO CLASS

    2. Wednesday, October 11

      1. Project Presentations

    Assigned Work

    • To Read

      1. Haverbeke, Chapters 20 & 22
    • To Do

      1. Project Two Due, 11:59pm CDT on Thursday, 10/12
  7. Node.js I Week Nine

    1. Monday, October 16

      1. Introduce Project Three
      2. Node.js setup, configuration, and conventions
    2. Wednesday, October 18

      1. Working with npm and package.json

    Assigned Work

    • To Read

      1. Wilson, Node.js 8: The Right Way, Chapters TBD
    • To Do

      1. Begin work on Project Three
  8. Node.js II Week Ten

    1. Monday, October 23

      1. Application structure and organization
    2. Wednesday, October 25

      1. Application testing and development

    Assigned Work

    • To Read

      1. Wilson, Node.js 8: The Right Way, Chapters TBD
    • To Do

      1. Continue work on Project Three
  9. Data Scrubbing & Cleansing Week Eleven

    1. Monday, October 30

      1. Wrangling broken formats and messy data
    2. Wednesday, November 1

      1. Regular expressions like a champ

    Assigned Work

    • To Read

      1. Wilson, Node.js 8: The Right Way, Chapters TBD
    • To Do

      1. Continue work on Project Three
  10. Unobtrusive JavaScript & User-Interface Design Week Twelve

    1. Monday, November 6

    2. Wednesday, November 8

      1. In-progress project presentations

    Assigned Work

    • To Read

      1. Wilson, Node.js 8: The Right Way, Chapters TBD
    • To Do

      1. Continue work on Project Three
  11. Designing Your Own API Week Thirteen

    1. Monday, November 13

      1. Writing and designing your own API specification
    2. Wednesday, November 15

      1. In-progress project presentations

    Assigned Work

  12. Client- and Server-Side Storage and Caching Week Fourteen

    1. Monday, November 20

      1. Technical and legal challenges for storing third-party API data
    2. Wednesday, November 22: Thanksgiving Break, NO CLASS

    Assigned Work

    • To Do

      1. Work on final project and presentation
  13. Final Project Presentations Week Fifteen

    1. Monday, November 27

      1. Final project presentations
    2. Wednesday, November 29

      1. NO CLASS MEETING. Stolley available electronically to provide help on final project.

    Assigned Work

    • To Do

      1. Final Project Due Thursday, December 7, 11:59pm